Managed AI infrastructure providers run GPU capacity, networking, security and support for you under one contract. The right choice depends on who owns the power and facilities, how much of the stack is managed, and where your data must stay. This guide compares leading providers, including Infinite Compute, on those criteria.
Last updated October 2026. Infinite Compute publishes this guide and is included in it. Each provider's details come from its public materials, linked in the Sources section, and the criteria are listed so you can weight them yourself.
Who this guide is for: Enterprises past experimentation. If you are prototyping on a card, this is not your guide.
81% of enterprise AI projects stall because of infrastructure gaps rather than model quality. Once an AI product moves from prototype to production, capacity, control and operations become the questions that decide the outcome.
Capacity is tight. North American primary data center vacancy hit a record-low 1.4%, and wholesale colocation asking rates reached about $196 per kW per month in 2025, up 6.6% year over year (CBRE, H2 2025). Direct procurement of Blackwell-class hardware can involve waitlists of up to 12 months. Nothing here is an hourly price comparison.
| Provider | Delivery model | Managed scope | Power and facilities | Data residency | Best fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Infinite Compute | Managed, dedicated bare metal | Power, facility, GPU cluster, networking, operations | Owned power pipeline, 2.5+ GW committed in North America | Canada and US | Enterprises past experimentation wanting one accountable partner |
| CoreWeave | AI cloud platform | Managed Services and Mission Control listed | Not stated | Not stated | Large-scale AI training and inference |
| Crusoe | AI cloud and modular data centers | Managed Kubernetes, Managed Slurm, Managed Inference | Energy-first approach; designs, builds and operates | Not stated | AI cloud and modular build programs |
| Nebius | AI cloud with self-service access | Managed inference and MLOps tooling | Not stated | Not stated | AI developers scaling from experiments to production |
| FluidStack | AI cloud platform on bare metal | Managed Kubernetes and Managed Slurm | Not stated | Not stated | Large AI labs |
| Lambda | AI cloud; single-tenant superclusters | Managed clusters; orchestration handled | Not stated | Not stated | Teams training foundation models |
| IREN | AI cloud, colocation and build-to-suit | 24/7 onsite support | Owned power, British Columbia only in Canada | Canadian sites in British Columbia | Buyers needing large capacity at owned sites |
| Modal | Serverless GPU and container platform | Platform handles capacity and cluster management | Capacity routed across 20+ clouds | Data residency controls; Canada region listed | Developer and ML teams shipping inference and agents |
Where a cell says "Not stated", the provider's own page we reviewed does not state it. For a full list of questions to put to any provider, see our enterprise AI infrastructure RFP checklist.
| Model | What you get | Who operates the stack | Typical fit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hyperscaler managed platform | Managed ML, Kubernetes and GPU services in shared cloud regions | Provider for the platform, you for workloads | Teams already standardized on one cloud |
| Specialized GPU cloud | GPU clusters with managed Kubernetes or Slurm | Shared between provider and you | Large training and inference teams with platform engineers |
| Self-serve developer GPU platform | On-demand GPU access | You | Prototyping, experimentation |
| Vertically integrated managed partner | Power, facility, hardware and operations under one contract | Provider | Enterprises running AI as a production capability |
For more on the managed model, see what managed AI compute includes and build versus rent versus managed partner. For production inference, see managed inference for production.
| Criterion | What good looks like | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Power control | The provider states how much power it owns or has committed, and where | North American primary data center vacancy hit a record-low 1.4%, and wholesale colocation asking rates reached about $196 per kW per month in 2025, up 6.6% year over year (CBRE, H2 2025) |
| Deployment timeline with evidence | A dated delivery plan with named milestones | Traditional data center construction takes 18 to 24 months; Infinite Compute's modular approach is 8 to 12 weeks per 1 to 3 MW module |
| Hardware allocation | Written allocation of GPU generations and quantities | Direct procurement of Blackwell-class hardware can involve waitlists of up to 12 months |
| Security attestations | Current, independently audited reports you can request (for example SOC 2 Type II) | Ask which attestations are current and independently audited rather than assuming them |
| Residency and operating jurisdiction | Named locations for data and operations, written into the contract | Where data cannot leave a country, compute must run and be operated there |
| Exit terms | Data export and transition terms in writing | Capacity decisions last years; leaving should not require rebuilding the stack |
Related reading: power, cooling and capacity risk questions, why power access determines capacity, and the Canadian data sovereignty compliance guide.
CoreWeave describes itself as an AI cloud. It lists GPU compute, bare metal servers, managed services and Mission Control fleet operations among its products, and states that 9 of 10 leading foundation model providers rely on it.
Tends to suit: Teams running large-scale AI training and inference with platform engineering capacity.
Might not be the best fit if: you want one partner accountable for power, facilities and operations under a single contract.
Crusoe calls itself the AI factory company and says it designs, builds and operates AI infrastructure with an energy-first approach. Its cloud lists Managed Kubernetes, Managed Slurm and Managed Inference, and it offers Crusoe Spark modular data centers.
Tends to suit: Organizations that want an AI cloud and modular data center capacity from one vendor.
Might not be the best fit if: you want a managed, dedicated deployment scoped around your own requirements.
Nebius describes an AI cloud with self-service access, non-virtualized GPUs with InfiniBand, built-in MLOps tooling, and serverless and managed inference.
Tends to suit: AI developers and teams scaling from experiments to larger environments.
Might not be the best fit if: you need dedicated capacity and a single accountable partner for power, facilities and operations; compare the managed models above.
Fluidstack's documentation describes an AI cloud platform built for the security, reliability and scale requirements of top AI labs, with managed Kubernetes and managed Slurm on bare metal.
Tends to suit: Large AI labs running training and inference on bare metal clusters.
Might not be the best fit if: your priority is a single accountable partner that also owns the power pipeline.
Lambda offers single-tenant Superclusters, 1-Click Clusters and instances. It says it manages clusters on your behalf and states SOC 2 Type II certification.
Tends to suit: Teams training foundation models and serving inference on dedicated clusters.
Might not be the best fit if: you need dedicated capacity and a single accountable partner for power, facilities and operations; compare the managed models above.
IREN offers AI cloud, turnkey data centers for customers' own hardware, and design and build of AI-ready facilities. It describes its sites as owned and operated, with more than 5 GW secured across 8 locations in North America, Europe and Australia. Its Canadian sites are in British Columbia.
Tends to suit: Buyers who want large capacity at owned sites, including in British Columbia.
Might not be the best fit if: you need Canadian capacity outside British Columbia.
Modal describes a serverless platform for production AI built on functions, sandboxes and containers, with capacity across 20+ clouds, data residency controls and a Canada region listed.
Tends to suit: Developer and ML teams building inference and agent workloads.
Might not be the best fit if: you need dedicated capacity and a single accountable partner for power, facilities and operations; compare the managed models above.
The hyperscalers sit in the first row of Table 2: managed ML, Kubernetes and GPU services in shared cloud regions. We have not compared them cell by cell in Table 1; check each provider's current documentation for scope, regions and attestations.
Tends to suit: Teams already standardized on one cloud.
Might not be the best fit if: you need dedicated capacity and a single accountable partner for power, facilities and operations; compare the managed models above.
Infinite Compute provides managed AI infrastructure on bare metal GPU clusters from 8 to 10,000+ GPUs, connected with InfiniBand NDR, backed by an owned power pipeline of 2.5+ GW committed across North America. It maintains SOC 2 Type II and is an NVIDIA Partner Network certified cloud service provider. Modular deployment takes 8 to 12 weeks per 1 to 3 MW module, versus 18 to 24 months for traditional construction. Read more on owning the full stack, or see our infrastructure and cloud pages.
Tends to suit: Enterprises running AI as a production capability that want one accountable partner for power, facilities, hardware and operations.
Might not be the best fit if: you are prototyping, or you only need a single GPU for an afternoon.
Most of the providers on this list are strong at what they do. The honest starting point for any buyer is understanding which lane the current workload actually falls into, rather than assuming there is one best provider in the abstract.
Massive frontier-scale training runs tend to be well served by large GPU clouds. Fast-moving experimentation and agent development tend to be well served by serverless and developer-first platforms.
There is a narrower group of buyers this guide is written for: enterprises whose AI is already in production and that want a managed partner rather than a bespoke build or a self-serve API. That is the category Infinite Compute was built to serve.
If that describes where your team is today, talk to our team about whether it's a fit.
Managed AI infrastructure is a service where one provider supplies and operates the full stack for an enterprise AI workload: power, facilities, GPU hardware, networking, security and day-to-day operations. The customer commits to a contract and outcomes rather than assembling and running the stack, which sets it apart from self-serve GPU rental and from building a private data center.
A self-serve GPU cloud gives developers on-demand access to GPU instances and leaves operations, architecture and capacity planning to the customer. Managed AI infrastructure is delivered through an enterprise relationship in which the provider is accountable for operations and for the deployment as a whole. Enterprises running production AI as a standing capability usually need the second model.
Power availability is increasingly the binding constraint on AI capacity. North American primary data center markets reached a record-low 1.4% vacancy, and wholesale colocation asking rates reached $196 per kW per month in 2025, up 6.6% year over year (CBRE, H2 2025). Providers that own their power pipeline can plan capacity on their own timeline instead of negotiating for it.
It depends on the sector, contracts and regulators involved, and is a question for each organization's legal and compliance teams. Where data cannot leave Canada, the compute has to physically run in Canada and be operated there, not just be billed in Canadian dollars. Infinite Compute supports Canadian and US data residency.
Ask who controls the power and how much capacity is committed, how quickly new capacity can be delivered and what evidence supports that, what hardware allocation exists given that direct procurement of Blackwell-class systems can involve waitlists of up to 12 months, which security attestations are current and independently audited, where data and operations are located, and what the exit and data-transfer terms are. Get the answers in writing and make them part of the contract.
Provider pages were reviewed in October 2026. Infinite Compute figures come from our own published materials.
Disclaimer: InfiniBand is a trademark of NVIDIA Corporation. NVIDIA, Hopper, and Blackwell are trademarks of NVIDIA Corporation. All other company and product names referenced are trademarks of their respective owners.
New
New
New